National Institution for Transforming India (Plan Coordination and Management Division)

> NITI Aayog, New Delhi 9th March 2015

ORDER

Sub: Constitution of a Sub-Group of Chief Ministers on rationalisation of Centrally Sponsored Schemes.

In pursuance of decision taken in the first meeting of the Governing Council of NITI Aayog, held on February 8, 2015, a Sub-Group of Chief Ministers is hereby constituted to examine the current CSS and recommend their suitable rationalisation.

2. The Composition of the sub-Group is as under

The composition of the Sub-Group is as follows:

- a) Chief Minister, Madhya Pradesh
- b) Chief Minister, Arunachal Pradesh
- c) Chief Minister, Jammu & Kashmir
- d) Chief Minister, Jharkhand
- e) Chief Minister, Kerala
- f) Chief Minister Manipur
- g) Chief Minister, Nagaland
- h) CM Chief Minister, Rajasthan
- i) Chief Minister, Telangana
- j) Chief Minister, Uttar Pradesh
- k) Lt. Governor, A&N Islands
- I) CEO, NITI Aayog

: Convener : Member : Member

The Sub-Group would be serviced by NITI Aayog.

3. Terms of Reference of the Sub-Group will be as follows:

(i) To examine the existing CSSs and recommend measures for ensuring that their implementation is streamlined and adequately flexible;

(ii) In light of the Finance Commission recommendations, the increased devolution of taxes to States and the higher revenue deficit grants to suggest reforms of the schemes which are being continued under CSS;

(iii) To recommend appropriate measures for coordination between the Centre and the States and among the States for achieving the objectives of the schemes;

(iv) Any other measures related to the schemes to strengthen the national development agenda and ensure outcomes.

4. General

- a) Since the Governing Council had decided this to be a Sub-Group of Chief Ministers, it is clarified that no other person is expected to represent the Members in case the concerned CM is unable to attend the deliberations. However, the Convener may co-opt any other official/non-official expert/representative of any organisation to assist the Sub-Group.
- b) The expenditure on TA/DA in connection with the meeting of the sub-group in respect of a Member or any co-opted official will be borne by the respective States/ Department. However, in case of co-opted non-official persons, they will be entitled for TA/DA as admissible to Grade-I Officials of the Government of India limited to economy class in case of air journey where applicable and the expenditure in this regard would be met by the NITI Aayog.
- c) The Sub-Group will submit its report within three months of its notification.

This issues with the approval of the Prime Minister and Chairman, NITI.

(Sindhushree Khullar) CEO (NITI)

To,

Convenor and all Members of the Sub-Group

Copy also for information to:

- 1. All Members of the Governing Council of NITI Aayog
- 2. Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister
- 3. PS to the Prime Minister
- 4. Vice Chairman and Full Time Members of NITI Aayog

000 000

(Sindhushree Khullar) CEO (NITI)